Stellar’s Banana Protein Deep Conditioner Recipe​

OCTOBER 11, 2012 by Contributing Editor Naturally Stellar

bananas

bananas (Photo credit: Fernando Stankuns)

​So I’ve been trying to perfect my Deep Conditioner recipe for a little while now. The last time I tried my former deep conditioner I ended up with little banana pieces (I think they were little seeds) in my hair that took me awhile to get out.  It frustrated me so much I almost gave up on making my own.

But Stellar’s no quitter & this cold weather has been kicking my hair’s butt so I got back on my grind.  I figured out what I was doing wrong. My Duh moment… I was allowing my bananas to become much too ripe. Now I’m making sure that I’m using my bananas almost the day after I purchase them, when it’s just turning yellow and the flesh is firm, not mushy.

Well anyway, I mixed until I got the perfect blend that works wonders on my hair.   I’m telling you, It’s the bombdiggy! It smells wonderful, it’s ultra moisturizing & 1 jar (recipe yields close to 16 oz.) should last  for quite a while as long as you keep it refrigerated.

I’m not gonna get into all of the benefits of each ingredient as there’s a ton of information out there on the net & in books to give you a headache, just trust that the combination of these is highly moisturizing &  protein rich at the same time.

If you’re also in need of Shine & some extra strength, Check out my Green Tea & Olive Oil Spritz Recipe (Super Simple) in a previous post.

Here’s what you’ll need:
Ingredients

1 Fresh Ripe Banana
1 Large Egg
2 TBSP – Coconut Oil – Preferred Cold Pressed
2 TBSP – Extra Virgin Olive Oil
1/2 bottle (about 8oz.) Generic Matrix Biolage Conditioner for Dry, Damaged Hair (or your favorite moisturizing conditioner)
1 TBSP – Honey

Tools

Medium Sized Bowl
Blender or Hand Mixer
Mason Jar or Container to Store Your Conditioner

  • Add all of the ingredients to your bowl except for the egg. Blend well, making sure to remove all lumps from your mix.
  • Crack & add your egg. Blend Well.  Use a spoon & scoop up some of the mixture, make sure you don’t see any more lumps. You want the consistency to become like smooth Pancake Batter.
  • Pour your mixture into the Mason Jar for storage in the refrigerator until your ready to use it.

TIP: If you plan on keeping your conditioner for longer periods of time in the fridge…add a little vitamin E or Rosemary oil to your mix.  These act as natural preservatives to extend the shelf life of your oil based mixes. 

If you try this recipe, let me know how it works for you…and if you fall in love with it…share it with someone else….P.S. let em know where you got it from…I gotta build my subscribers LOL

Happy Healthy Hair!

– Naturally Stellar

Stellar’s Banana Protein Deep Conditioner
(c) 2012 naturallystellar.wordpress.com

7 responses to “Stellar’s Banana Protein Deep Conditioner Recipe​

  1. Pingback: Sunshine & The Blues OOTD **Pics Only Post** | Naturally Stellar·

  2. Pingback: Naturally Stellar | Maintain Lean Muscle with Protein Smoothies | Naturally Stellar·

  3. Pingback: Sunshine & The Blues OOTD **Pics Only Post** ⋆ Naturally Stellar·

Leave a Reply

